Go Back   tanTALK - Tanning Salon Business Owners Community > TanTalk Central > Technology Forum

Technology Forum Computer questions? Need Technical assistance? Ask Andy!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-11-2002, 11:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Jul 6 2001
Posts: 1,875
Rep Power: 20 tangirl will become famous soon enough
I bought a new computer for the salon today. I was planning on installing it on Saturday evening after closing.

Bear in mind that I bought an existing salon and Helios was already loaded on the current computer.

What pitfalls or necessary steps should I be aware of when transferring to the new computer?

I know basic computers but technical jargon boggles my mind. My plan was to run a backup of the current computer to the zip drive. Connect the new computer and run a recovery from the same zip. Am I going about this the wrong way? Directions? Assistance? Anyone?
tangirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2002, 11:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Feb 7 2000
Posts: 154
Rep Power: 21 Rich C is on a distinguished road
Probably the easiest would be to copy the files in your helios\DATA folder. When you install Helios on the new pc, transfer your files into that directory. Andy said back up and restore feature will not be around in v10, so get used to not using it. The zip drive you're using is fine as long as you have a zip on the new one. Also, make sure you have the same zip on both. Newer ones tend to come with 250 disks, however those will read 100 too. The 100 only read 100.

Test it out first before you take your old computer completely down just to make sure everything moves ok.

If you're talking about other files, burn a cd and move them. I'm a fan of starting fresh on a hard drive rather than copying over everything with a backup. Your files are one thing, but you'll also back up all the behind the scenes crap that you won't have on a fresh hard drive.
Rich C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2002, 11:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Jul 6 2001
Posts: 1,875
Rep Power: 20 tangirl will become famous soon enough
The problem with the current computer is that is does not have a writable drive. (Don't ask, I didn't buy it, it came with the salon.) I'm going to have to use the zip. Can I just copy the Helios data only to the zip and transfer that info using the zip drive?
tangirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2002, 11:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Jul 6 2001
Posts: 1,875
Rep Power: 20 tangirl will become famous soon enough
Andy and Rich, thanks for so much for your help. I think I have absolutely everything under control except for the dongle. What on this large green earth is a dongle?
tangirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2002, 11:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Jul 6 2001
Posts: 1,875
Rep Power: 20 tangirl will become famous soon enough
What just happened? I read Andy's post and responded to it. I hit submit and it was gone. I was going to print it for reference purposes this weekend.
tangirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2002, 12:00 AM   #6 (permalink)
 
Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 25 2000
Location: CT
Posts: 1,768
Rep Power: 21 Andy has a spectacular aura about Andy has a spectacular aura about
Hi tangirl, wish I was in Texas this weekend to help.

I totally agree with Rich C - NEW Computer - REFRESH start - just move across the data you need.

I am assuming here that you are replacing the prior computer, if you are actually going to network - slightly different approach.

I am also going to assume that you are currently using the latest V9.4 on your current system.


The biggest issues to consider will be the side issues if any.

What Peripherals do you have that will have to be set up and configured on your new system. Make sure you have all the appropriate Drivers and that the drivers you have will work with the operating system on your new system compared to the old
- do you use a Thumbprint Reader
- do you use a Camera
- what Receipt Printer and Report Printer are you using, does Windows have the drivers or do you have the drivers that came with the device (again are they compatible with your new Operating System - do not assume - test first). If you have a Star Receipt Printer - remember DO NOT use a Star Driver use the Generic Text only in Windows
- what Timer Manager are you using (is it connected to the system, on the same port.

Just to avoid confusion, check the Date Setting in Regional Settings in the Control Panel of the old system and make sure the new computer has the same setting. MM/dd/yy is recommended but likely better to make sure they are the same. There are some date issues in Helios on the report requests screens and with Variable Memberships that will confuse your staff if you move from a 2 digit year to a 4 digit year. Not a biggee but who needs added confusion.


OK, everything organizing all the above peripherals configure the same or you know the differences that will have to be changed. Like maybe the Timer Manager was on COM2 on your old system and your new system only has COM1 - no problem, but you will have to change that in system preferences after you move the data onto the new system (you would actually get an Invalid port error when you start Helios on the new system - if that was the situation - no problem - just needs to be changed).


1. Install Helios V9.4 on your new system

2. Backup your Helios Data on your old system

3. Are you using Release or Contract forms in Helios - NO - no issue - YES - also copy the *.rtf files from the Helios9 directory to the ZIP disk

4. Restore your Helios Data onto your new system - assuming it is Demo Data on your new computer at this point - remember the password to Restore is "DEMO".

Now I am pretty sure that the Demo Data is in fact set to allow a Restore. If you get an error here - start Helios up - View - System Files - Password - DEMO will be the password here (in Demo Data) - F2 - Bring Up the Demo record - Click on Utility under Menu Function - NO you do not wish to clear - put a tick in Restore Data Files - Close - F10 Save - Esc - CLOSE Helios and the Timer Server - OK go Restore now

Once you do the Restore then your Passwords will be in effect.

5. If YES to the forms above - copy the *.rtf files from the ZIP to the c:program fileshelios9 directory - you should get a "confirm replace message" (a good sign)

6. Move the Dongle from the old system to your new system.

7. Start Helios on the new system

8. Make any necessary changes in your System Preferences related to the new system.
- different Printer Names ??
- different Port Connections between systems ??

9. Test the various functions to ensure all is well
- Add a client (files are all in place)
- Tan a client or Warm a bed (Timer working)
- View and Print a report (Printer(s) working and Cash Drawer if appropriate)


Hope this helps, best wishes

Need more help - it would be a pleasure - give me a call (have Credit Card within reach)

_________________

Andy Thompson
ACT Business Solutions
HELIOS Training On-site and Off-site Set Up Service
Toll-Free 877-777-6717
andy@atso.ca [ This Message was edited by: Andy @ ATSO.ca on 2002-04-12 11:07 ]
Andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2002, 12:04 AM   #7 (permalink)
 
Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 25 2000
Location: CT
Posts: 1,768
Rep Power: 21 Andy has a spectacular aura about Andy has a spectacular aura about
Sorry tangirl - I was editing my TERRIBLEEEE spelling and grammar - now my post is below your thank you - you are good!!!!


The dongle is the copy protection device that will be attached (assuming you are using V9 of Helios) to the LPT1 port on the back of your current computer. About a inch and a half square and white.

If you are using V8 - DIFFERENT STORY entirely


Again all the very best

_________________

Andy Thompson
ACT Business Solutions
HELIOS Training On-site and Off-site Set Up Service
Toll-Free 877-777-6717
andy@atso.ca[ This Message was edited by: Andy @ ATSO.ca on 2002-04-11 23:23 ]
Andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2002, 12:06 AM   #8 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Jul 6 2001
Posts: 1,875
Rep Power: 20 tangirl will become famous soon enough
Ok. I know exactly what you are talking about. I noticed that last night when I was inspecting the computer. Thanks so much for your help.
tangirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2002, 12:39 AM   #9 (permalink)
 
Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 25 2000
Location: CT
Posts: 1,768
Rep Power: 21 Andy has a spectacular aura about Andy has a spectacular aura about
OK - good luck

Make sure that "Significant Other" has a nice bottle of your favorite relaxer and a nice Yellow Rose ready for that Saturday evening:::::

then sit back relax and say with pride "YES - I DID IT !!!!!!!"


Andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2002, 08:09 AM   #10 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Jul 6 2001
Posts: 1,875
Rep Power: 20 tangirl will become famous soon enough
Thanks Andy. I'm buying a 6 pack of Smirnoff Ice on the way to the salon. If all goes smoothly I'm heading to the Foley's Red Apple sale that lasts until midnight.
tangirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer shutdown running as server tropicaltanning Technology Forum 8 09-23-2005 10:03 PM
SalonTouch - Computer Slow arubagals Technology Forum 1 05-25-2005 11:47 PM
Computer tech gets fired???? BooBop Say What ????? 4 02-22-2003 02:39 AM
Computer Problems SunSationAiken Technology Forum 9 07-21-2001 12:54 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.1.0
Copyright 2009 - tanTALK.com

click here for advertising info!